Bee On Trade

ECCN (Export Control Classification Number)


Sign-up to our newsletter, get access to exclusive tips about freight forwarding weekly update!

Commerce Control List (CCL) FAQs

What is the Commerce Control List (CCL) and how does it categorize American exports?

The Commerce Control List (CCL) employs an ECCN, a five-character alphanumeric code, to classify U.S. exports and determine the need for an export license from the Department of Commerce.

How are products categorized by ECCN on the Commerce Control List?

Products are categorized by an ECCN based on their technology, software, or commodity characteristics.

How is the Commerce Control List (CCL) structured?

The Commerce Control List (CCL) consists of ten categories, each of which is further subdivided into five product groups.

Can you provide an example of how ECCNs are structured and used?

Certainly, for instance, nuclear materials or electronics are identified by the first letter of the ECCN, and the second character specifies the product group (e.g., material or software).

When is it necessary to report the ECCN for a product governed by the Bureau of Industry and Security (BIS)?

The ECCN must be reported when the product falls under the jurisdiction of the Bureau of Industry and Security (BIS) within the US Department of Commerce.

How can I determine the ECCN for my product by category and product group?

You can determine the ECCN for your product by referring to the Commerce Control List, which provides the necessary classification information.

Why is the Commerce Control List (CCL) important?

The CCL plays a crucial role in regulating American exports, ensuring compliance with export control regulations, and safeguarding national security interests.

More from Beeontrade

© Beeontrade Inc. 2023